Tshwane  University  of  Technology  is  one  of  the  youngest  technical  universities in South  Africa.  The institution hosts seven Research Chairs, thereunder five  SARChI  Chairs, of which all five are relevant to water issues. This is unique for such a young university.

TUT  was  established  on  1  January  2004,  with  the  merging  of  the  former  Technikon Northern   Gauteng,   Technikon   North-West   and   Technikon   Pretoria.   This   new   mega-institution  annually  enrols  approximately  60,000  students,  and  its  student  body  is  one  of the  most demographically representative in the  country in terms of  both race and gender, reflecting  the  Rainbow  Nation  in  all  its  diversity.  Four of  South  Africa’s  nine  provinces  are covered  by  the  University’s geographic  footprint,  with  campuses  located  in  Tshwane  (Pretoria, Soshanguve and Ga-Rankuwa), Mbombela (Nelsbruit), eMalahleni (Witbank) and Polokwane (Pietersburg). Large numbers of students are also drawn from other provinces and from neighbouring countries such as  Botswana,  Zimbabwe,  Namibia  and  Swaziland.  TUT employs  more  than  2700  permanent  staff  members,  including  almost  900  highly  qualified permanent  academics.  These academics are increasingly focusing on conducting applied research and community engagement activities in addition to their instructional roles. One of  its  key  focuses  is  the  economic  and  social  development  of  the  southern  African  region. This  is  established  by  creating  prosperity  through  the  stimulation  of  innovation  and  creative  thinking  facilitated  by  various  incubators  and  technology  stations.  The  University  is committed  to  ongoing  transformation  to  make  it  ever  more  responsive  to  the  needs  of southern Africa and the continent as a whole.